Endowed Awards and Scholarship Opportunities

Applications are closed!

If you have questions, please email crashell.allen@temple.edu

The Endowed Awards and Scholarship Opportunities are designed to recognize Temple University students for their outstanding academic, leadership and service achievements.

Application Requirements

  • Completed Application Form
    • Student Information
    • Temple and Community Volunteer Experience (Can submit up to three)
    • Paid Work Experience (Can submit up to three)
    • Publications and Exhibitions (Can submit up to three)
    • Honors and Awards (Can submit up to three)
  • Essay question for each award you are applying to
  • Resume

Please follow the directions carefully; incomplete applications will not be presented to the selection committee. 

Scholarship recipients will be selected by a committee that is convened by the Dean of Students Office.

If you have any questions, please contact the Dean of Students Office at (215) 204-7188 or crashell.allen@temple.edu

Application is due Friday, March 5th 2021 by 5pm. 

Awards for Consideration:

The Dean of Students Office coordinates the Endowed Awards and Scholarship Opportunities process.  The following awards are available for students to apply to:

Sol Feinstone Award:
The recipient of this award is honored for their participation in, leadership of, or personal accomplishment of constructive social and/or educational change inside or outside of the University community. This award is open to sophomores, juniors, and seniors.

Joel M. Schafer Award: 
The award honors a junior or senior with financial need who has demonstrated a commitment for a better society for all people through social action. 

The Dorothy A. Seegers Memorial Award:
Awarded annually in honor of Dorothy A. Seegers, who made a significant contribution to Temple University from 1943 to 1979 as a student, employee, and administrator. The award is given to a full-time graduating senior who has demonstrated a concern for others and has shown dedication and loyalty to Temple University.

Adeline and Marvin Wachman Scholarship Fund: 
This fund was created to award a current freshman and sophomore with financial need who has a "B" average or higher, significant participation and promise of leadership in co-curricular activities at Temple University. 

Valaida S. Walker Award: 
This award is presented to a student in good academic standing who demonstrates University leadership as well as service to the broader community. This award is open to current sophomores and juniors.

Whittaker Award: 
Awarded annually in honor of Raymond Whittaker, the director of Student Activities who helped Lewis Katz establish an entertainment and lecture series for students in the early 1960’s. This award is given to a full-time junior or senior who has demonstrated innovative and entrepreneurial leadership in furthering student activities to benefit students and the community. 

Jerry Zaslow Award: 
The award is presented to a student who has best demonstrated high academic achievement as well as well-rounded activity within the University and the community. This award is given to any full-time undergraduate student.